Guild Wars 2 September 2014 Features Pack Coming!

gw2-september-Celebration

ArenaNet is going to come out with another features pack in September! Living Story will be put on hold in order to deliver this. This features pack will start off with PvP and WvW.

From ZAM, we can see at least 2 things that will be in the features pack: an improved squad party UI including changing the commander tag color and a golem mastery. This is all go0d for WvW but I hope there will be more to it than that. WvW is fun but can get a bit stagnate. I’m not saying a new map is needed but something new to mix it up would be nice.

Regarding the commander tags, according to guildnews.de a commander tag will be account bound and will be 300 gold starting September 9th. Refunds for extra purchased tags can be handled by support. Another feature is that you must buy the colors for the tag but it’s not clear if it’s a smaller fee of say 50 gold or you have to spend another 300 gold for another color which would be just ridiculous in my opinion. Hopefully it’s not the second option. If it were, there’s 4 to 5 colors to choose from so that would be a 1200-1500 gold sync if you wanted all the colors and had to buy a new tag each time. That’s basically buying a high end precursor. Maybe the majority of people with commander tags have that kind of money to spend, I really don’t know. I can’t say the same for people who play regularly but not 6 – 12 hours a day everyday. I can say this for sure though: if you want to save 200 gold and don’t care about having a blue colored tag, buy a commander tag before September 9th.

For SPvP I don’t play it as much as I would like to these days. I would imagine there will be a new map or a new mode, maybe both, and some quality of life changes. Probably even a new standings feature for better structuring their SPvP tournaments.

Right now, according to a GW2 post, we know of Standard Model feature where players have the option to make enemies appear as a human model (if the game mode supports them). This is to make knowing the skills characters use easier to read. We’ll have to see how it goes but I’m not so sure I like this too much. The very reason I’d run an Asura is to be small and harder to spot so I can kite and fight, for example on my Asuran Thief. The reason I’d run a Charr or a Norn is to be visually spot able as if to say “Hit me!” but then they get hurt by my retaliation (I run a Norn Guardian). Another PvP change we know of is PvP exclusive armor which is nice for the PvP players having some distinguishing features than PvE players.

I’m interested if there will be much for PvE. The commander icons/squad change would be beneficial for things like the Evolved Jungle Wurm or Tequatl. The post Colin put out announcing the pack did say “To kick things off, we’ll be focusing on new PvP and WvW updates“. We’ll see if there’s more in store for PvE but it seems the focus at the moment will be on PvP and WvW. Fingers crossed for precursor crafting!

The April 2014 Features pack was awesome, especially for PvE players. Hopefully the September pack benefits the PvP and WvW players a lot. I can’t wait to see what else is coming!

Posted on August 15, 2014, in Guild Wars 2, MMORPG and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

