Entanglement Experience & Dragon’s Reach Part 1 Trailer First Impressions

Guys, this next patch… is going to be so good. Be sure to watch the trailer before reading!

Okay so, these patches just keep getting better and better! For one, the vines are spreading further into Tyria. Up to the Black Citadel at the very least; and Rytlock is not happy about it. It also looks like personal issues will be featured in this patch as well. Let’s talk about Entanglement first.

My Entanglement Episode Experience

Beware, spoilers ahead. So I have to say, this patch was highly impressive. At first I was going through the motions, seeing if I would find out more about the image that could be linked to the Realm of Torment. Then as I was exploring more of Dry Top I got really into the scenery. And that cave where the episode takes place is quite awesome.

The part where we have to help out the camps in Kessex Hills and Timberline Falls was ok, then we saw Belinda, Marjory’s sister, hanging dead from a vine that grabbed her. Then we saw Marjory almost breaking out into tears. At that moment, I felt so sad and even sick to my stomach a bit. I was doing the episode with a friend so we didn’t leave the instance right away when we finished but man I felt so bad whenever I looked over and Belinda.

Finally, there was The Machine. At first I thought, this is it! We’re going to be ported to a new zone! Initially I thought it’d be the Realm of Torment but I started to question it when I saw the Tree in the cut scene. Then we saw the insignia of what was thought to be the Realm of Torment. Then we saw the green orb get sucked into the middle and saw the Dragon’s eye, the eye of Mordremoth. Our character confirmed we saw the Eternal Alchemy which blows my mind because if that insignia where the smaller orbs represent the Elder Dragons, there are 6 in all. What would be cool is if we have some light attachment to the Eternal Alchemy so that we have visions or something along those lines. I think it’d be interesting story wise.

All in all the last two moments of the episode made me very happy and excited for the next episode which we’ll talk about now!

When Corruption Spreads

Well, I guess no one made any weed repellent strong enough just yet because the vines have spread out to at least the Black Citadel/Plains of Ashford area. I noticed that the corruption spread distance from Dry Top to Timberline Falls (from episode 1 to 2) is relatively the same distance from Timberline Falls to The Black Citadel. If the corruption spreads in all directions, then we could be looking at the bottom of Frostgorge Sound having a few vines as well.

I do wonder if the corruption could even spread into the Shiverpeaks. If it’s possible, the spread would be quite bad. The reason I question if it’s possible is that The Risen have only spread up to Lion’s Arch (starting from the bottom left of Tyria) during personal story. It looks like Mordremoth’s vines are either following a path of waypoints or the ley lines which pretty much covers Tyria either way.

Decisions & Priorities

This patch features Destiny’s Edge 2.0 making what seems like some hard decisions. We see Rox talking with Rytlock, Braham about to talk to his mother Eir, and we see Taimi with other Asura looking as if they want an answer out of her.

These “tests” definitely follow from the personal issues of each character I mentioned above from Living Story Season 1. From Season 1 we know there’s friction between Braham and Eir. We also know that Rox had to make decisions between her friends (mainly Braham at the time) and her getting into Rytlock’s warband. Taimi I’m not so sure of but there may be some Asura not too thrilled with her infatuation with Scarlet or with her research of Scarlet.

It will be interesting to see how these characters will proceed if personal issues get in the way. The members of the first Destiny’s Edge had big personal issues as well; and we all know that turned out badly.

“Ascalon, I Free You From This Curse!”

Hands down, this line is the single biggest thing in that video. I had a dumbfounded expression on my face but was internally freaking out when I saw that. It appears that Rytlock is going to release the Ghosts of Ascalon to fight for him. You know, the ones who harbor insane hatred for the Charr for over 200 years? Yea those ones. That scene reminded me of Aragorn from Lord of Rings: Return of the King when he got the ghosts to fight for him. Rytlock is pretty much Aragorn in this case. Oddly enough, they both need a sword to release the ghosts from their spectral curse.

Anyways, the fact that Rytlock resorts to these measures really signifies that Mordremoth presents a huge problem next patch. However, if the ghosts are bound to help Rytlock fight Mordremoth in exchange for something, I’m guessing letting their spirits being freed, that’s a different case and could very well prove to make the story more interesting.

To Sum It Up

All in all, ArenaNet has been doing a great job on the story. I hope they’re not burning through all the good stuff right now as I feel we’re reaching a high of the story rather quickly. I could be wrong though and this could very well be only a small sample of the good stuff yet to come.

Personally, the Gates of Maguuma patch was okay for me, it felt like a normal LS patch: a bit of speculation and decent story setup for next patch. Entanglement is what woke me up, the trailer was fine but the ending of that episode was so good and had me wondering what was coming next. Now we see that the trailer for Dragon’s Reach: Part 1 is amazing and full of intrigue. It naturally leads me to believe the patch will be amazing as well.

I have to force myself to remember to dial it back a bit as next episode is Part 1 of the story. I assume there will be two episodes to make up the story of Dragon’s Reach but you never know!

Posted on July 25, 2014, in Guild Wars 2, MMORPG and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

