Incinerator: How I Got My First Legendary (In A Nutshell)

age-incinerator

Hey all. Last week, I finally crafted my first legendary weapon for my thief: the dagger Incinerator. I wanted to share the experience I’ve had when I first decided to get a legendary about a year ago. Hopefully this helps you decide if the time, effort and gold sink is worth all the trouble.

How It Began

I didn’t start from launch saying to myself: “Ok let’s start working on a Legendary”. I started the game by playing at my pace. Note that I’m not one for doing fractals or dungeons a lot. WvW and PvP I dip into every now and then. For the most part I go running around exploring on my main, leveling alts, doing achievement when I’m up for it and doing living story meta. One of the first things I wanted to do was to get 100% map completion so I can travel around more easily which is where my journey begins.

The Progress

When I first got 100% map completion, I didn’t know what Gifts of Exploration were for. A quick wiki search lead me to browsing through legendaries. I decided that I finally wanted to work towards one but I was torn between Twilight because it looked awesome or Incinerator because I main a Thief and the dagger is pretty cool. I ended up on focusing on getting the general things needed and decide later on.

I kind of went at my own pace, gathering materials as I adventured along and focused on getting specific items for a legendary every now and then, like trying to get Mystic Clovers from the forge, trading in laurels for Tier 6 materials and so on. To make a long story short, I got to the point where I had most or almost most of the items to make the genral items and gifts. All I was really missing was a precursor.

I really didn’t have faith in my RNG luck for getting a precursor via a drop or the forge, and I still don’t. So when I saw I had enough to get Spark, the precursor for Incinerator, I had to make a decision: do I continue to save for Dusk or just get Spark and buy the rest of the materials for Incinerator. With a small push from a friend to go for it, I decided in the end to get Spark.

Am I Happy With My Legendary?

I can honestly say, my friend pushed me into a good direction. Incinerator, in my opinion, is a very awesome legendary. I really like the sounds and animations on it, especially when I death blossom and crit. Incinerator in the Offhand is good too with bouncing dagger having a very cool animation.

The hardest parts of any legendary in my opinion are:
– The precursor (horrible RNG / really expensive in trading post)
– Tier 6 Materials for Gift of Magic and Gift of Might (gathered over time or bought off TP)
– Lodestones (time consuming / expensive[or not, can vary depending on trends])

Players that don’t want to spend there time or gold on Legendaries can buy pretty decent looking exotics for way less. But legendaries, as time and effort consuming (and RNG rage inducing) as the process is, I found it worth it in the end. I’ve even started planning for the next legendary! It maybe a bit more time consuming due to nerf on Karma but I will hopefully will have another legendary in a year or so. If your working on one, just remember to have fun as well, farm when you can, gather at all nodes you come across, and sell stuff you don’t need (it’s surprising how much you can get). Good luck!

Posted on March 14, 2014, in Guild Wars 2, MMORPG and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

