Playing Udyr: What I’ve Learned From Trick2g’s Videos

The most annoying tanky damage kiting melee champion you’ll ever play in League of Legends: Udyr. I had an insanely good time with this champion in a match recently when I applied the play style of Trick2g who is famous in the League community for his Volibear and Udyr. So I decided to break down some of the highlights from my game in this video I made. Hopefully this serves as a mini guide on playing as Udyr.

1) The 4v1 Delay Kiting (0:00 – 1:06)

In the beginning of the video, bot lane was crowded with enemies. As tanky as Udyr is, I can’t 4v1 and expect to live in the early game. At best I could have killed the Jinx or Blitzcrank who were low on health and try to escape or die.

Instead of running to the safety of my tower and then running away while the rest of the enemy team get a free tower bottom lane, I kite back and flash towards the enemy tower in order to make it look like I want to kill Jinx. Naturally, Blitzcrank and Vi who were close by, came back to aid Jinx and Xerath tried to close my escape through tri-bush. This resulted in me kiting a bunch of them in their jungle until only Blitzcrank was chasing me so I called it quits and ran in between two of their towers and took their blue.

This tactic accomplished three main things:

1) Saved the bottom tower from getting destroyed

2) Prevented four enemy players from being helpful to lanes; two of the four which needed to go back to base

3) Helped get bot lane farmed and got mid and bot lanes pushed to the enemy tower at some point

Oh and I stole their blue, so it’s pretty much a win all around.

2) The Flash Gank With A Getaway (1:07 – 1:55)

I saw Xerath was near death and I quickly though of my options:

  • Go straight down mid lane and catch him and flash if necessary
  • Flash over wall, stun then kill him

Going over it in my head I knew Xerath would flash the instant he saw me since he did in my previous ganks on his lane. As a jungler you should note how a player will react to your presence. Also Blitzcrank could have stopped me by knocking me up or pulling me. So the best choice was to flash gank over wall which I did. By the way, a good rule of thumb: don’t recall shop when you’re near death low.

The next part was that I was hesitant in taking Blitzcrank on but I decided to try. Blitzcrank got to turret safety and I was dying to turret shots so I got out of there. Then Vi decides to show up. I take a bunch of damage and Vi had red but I tried to keep stances going in order to keep the passive movement speed up. Luckily, I kited around their red camp and back to in my jungle successfully.

This shows that with Udyr you can really push the limits on how long you engage in fights and the escape potential he has.

3) The Team Fight and Low Health Dive (1:56 – 3:08)

This is after we caught Xerath and got Blitzcrank low. Vi jumps in from mid lane brush as my team was chasing. When Akali and Jinx saw the Vi ult me, they started bursting me. Thankfully I built tanky. I fought for as long as I could then I ran into mid lane brush when I got low.

Jinx tried to run into brush to catch me but realized her mistake when I took her to half health and tried to run. She got to her tower safely so I decided to just go for tower. I immediately thought after my first hit on tower “Wait… I’m Udyr, I can kill that Jinx” and swapped to Bear then Phoenix for kill and Turtle out. I looped back and took mid tower with Morgana and Sona then went for my blue.

This shows that Udyr can take a ton of initial damage for your team, dip out of the fight and come running back in for more or to get away if the fight is too much. Also, it goes to show that Udyr has great diving potential mid game.

So that’s my experience playing Udyr Trick2g style. Massive props to him, I would have never learned to play Udyr this way otherwise. It’s a fun play style that gets results and I’ll be using it when I play Udyr.

TL;DR

Udyr is an awesome tanky melee champion with a great all-around kit for kiting, mitigating damage and dishing damage as proven in the video above. Props to Trick2g for the helpful videos!

Posted on January 3, 2014, in Games, League of Legends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

