The Console Wars 2013 – Part 1: The Starting Gates

So this is my first blog post… ever! So I thought there’s no better way to start it off than to write about the Console Wars this year between Sony’s Play Station 4 and Microsoft’s Xbox One. I know, I know, this news is old but I’ve been rather busy in the past couple of weeks since E3 and this is the best way to get my 2 cents in about everything. I guess I should start at the very beginning in case you’ve been living under a rock.

Alright so, let’s start back in February! Sony had a presentation to talk about the PS4’s capabilities and some games. It was streamed live so I tuned in. The first 20 – 30 minutes was a bunch of technical jargon that people with little to no computer knowledge would understand (thankfully I had the knowledge to comprehend what the dude was saying). The presentation as a whole was OK. Some interesting capabilities such as control swapping & remote play but some of those features I personally don’t see using. I mean, I wouldn’t want anyone to take control of my game, I want to beat it by myself.The console itself had good hardware that console lovers should be excited for (if they’ve only played consoles mind you), although I think the majority just cared about the graphics. The social media they showed for stream integration was UStream which I thought was odd because Twitch would be the number choice to partner up with for game streaming. Later down the road we find out Microsoft got to Twitch first.

square-enix-new-ip-2013

Some of games shown in order to show off the PS4 graphics and processing power looked quite cool, especially Square Enix’s new IP (screenshot to the right), at least I hope it’s a new IP, it looked really good and looks like it have a story I can get behind (I’m a sucker for RPGs). There was no PS4 reveal which disappointed a lot of people but left them looking forward to E3. You can check out the presentation here.

Now we’ll move onto Microsoft’s presentation for the Xbox Reveal in May. Man, oh man, I got a lot to go over on this one. What kinda sucked is that I was listening to the stream live at work and took peeks every now and then when I thought they mentioned something worth looking at. In short they focused more on the TV and social media aspect than the games or even the hardware.  My first thought after watching this was that there was nothing really interesting besides actually seeing the Xbox One and finding out Halo is going be a show directed by Steven Spielberg (which I’m totally psyched for). The initial speaker showed off some of the new Kinect capabilities but like with the PS4’s special features, I don’t see myself using them. “Xbox On”? It’ll be a foot away from me. I’m lazy but I’m not that lazy as to not reach out to press a power button. I can see it being useful for accessing stuff on the Xbox One if disability is involved.

In short there was nothing much for the gamer. People brought up that the presentation was really for investors but come on. Gamers are the consumers. If your consumers are left with next to nothing, they won’t be impressed and will consider buying your product less. This reaction will , in turn, will make investors less likely to invest in your product. Gamers also got a little, ok, a lot more vocal when they found about the online restrictions but you guys should know about those by now so I’ll cover what I think about that in the next post.

XboxOneSystemControllers

My twitter feed kept on rolling out tweets along the lines of “TVTVTVTVTVTV” or “Show us GAMES!”. When they did it was only the new EA sports games, Forza and the Call of Duty. I’ll admit CoD looked good but they really didn’t have to spend the last 10 minutes of the presentation on it (the full presentation was an hour by the way). You can check out the Xbox One Reveal presentation here.

It seemed to me that both Sony and Microsoft had a bit of work to do for E3. Sony needs PS4 reveal and Microsoft needed more games and a better explanation of some of the Xbox One capabilities. At this point Sony was in a bit of a lead for the Console Wars due to Microsoft lack of games. All of this information I learn, I took it with me while watching the E3 presentations.

Stay tuned for Part 2 – The Sweep in the coming days, this post will cover my thoughts of the 2 consoles surrounding the E3 hype!

Posted on June 26, 2013, in General Gaming, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

